Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Social networks like Facebook and Instagram have become an inseparable part of our lives. In my opinion, while it has some negative impacts, the positive effect far outweighs the negatives. On the one hand, social media application has some drawbacks. First, social media addiction is a common problem among kids and teenagers, even adults. ()They waste most of their time on such platforms. Therefore, they hardly ever find time for family reunions or friends gathering. When friends lost their touch due to distance communication, they probably forget the true sense of friendship, so that relationships may be damaged. Second, excessive use of social media not only can lead to mental problems, like isolation and depression, but it may also cause physical diseases like eye problems and obesity. On the other hand, social networking is beneficial for both society and individuals. Firstly, communication among people become easier than it used to be. Due to the complicated life’s of today, people do not have time to visit their family and friends, so this platform can bring them together wherever they are. Secondly, a huge amount of information is in access due to the help of social networks like YouTube and LinkedIn, so, these websites can help individuals develop their education and career. Consequently, people are becoming more educated and specialized in society. In conclusion, despite its negative effects, I personally believe that social media would bring more benefits to individuals and communities. As for the negative effects, it really depends on how a society use these applications and site.