Reading books keeps a person's mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The imaginative process is an individual activity. Every person keeps their mind functioning by using different stimulation sources. Books, films and television are different sources of information that reaches many eyes day by day. Therefore, all of them are activities that require an imaginative process and an active brain. On the one hand, since books contain written ideas related to different areas of knowledge, they do not need the same mental effort. Whereas reading fiction definitely keeps a person's imagination actively due to the intensity of the drama, non-fiction books do not need much of it. Sometimes this type of written works contains basic education that does not allow active thinking. Also, some people need to see images while reading in order to stay focused, understand the main ideas, and do the same thing longer time. For example, a picture of a character, a landscape or a machine is crucial to produce the reader-lecture match. For that reason, some illustrated lectures are more popular among youngsters, it is easier for them to stay alert. On the other hand, documentaries, news, and movies lead an active process as well. Learning is different to every person, it depends on the individual lifestyle and spare time. For instance, enjoying an action film diminishes anxiety and produces several mental situations to the characters and virtual endings. Then, the brain is hardly working. In addition, leisure is crucial after work. Documentaries and TV news function as relaxing and informative moments. To some people, receiving actual details is important in order to know what is happening in society and to plan their future activities. In sum, films, TV and books, often stimulate the viewer's thoughts and feelings in a different way. Books keep a person mind active longer, while television shows and movies are a shorter source of imagination. In my view, both options contribute equal to brain activeness, so, I partially disagree with the statement.