In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Water plays an essential and invaluable role in farming although there are technological advancements taking place. There are various reasons for starvation such as global warming due to industrialization, the usage of fossil fuels, deforestation, and contamination of toxic substances with water sources and soil which lead to the disappearance of necessary microorganisms for crops. For instance, firstly, an excessive approach to industrialization will release more CO2 and other toxic gases to the environment and damage the Ozone layer, due to which, the temperature will increase and lead to drought. Secondly, deforestation causes the loss of animal habitats and disturbs the ecosystem. Furthermore, the damage caused to the environment is reversible. Carrying out certain treatments by collaborating with agricultural experts will solve these issues. A few things can be executed such as installing rainwater harvesting tanks in every house, artificial forestation (or planting more trees) to provide more habitat for wild animals and insects, and implementing stringent rules and regulations for industrial owners to control the emissions within allowable limits to prevent global warming and to save water which will enhance the crop yield. For example, farmers gave up farming in a village called Madurai in the Southern part of India due to insufficient water in reservoirs and wells, however artificial forestation enhanced the rain and increased the groundwater table to the previous stage. In conclusion, humans will struggle for food if everybody does not take care of this precious environment despite technological advancements. Artificial forestation, rainwater preservation, and policy-making for industrial sectors will decrease global warming and boost food production.