In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example for your own knowledge or experience.

By progressing technology, the prevalence of self-driving cars is not out of expectation in the near future. While some would argue that these smart vehicles are not reliable at all, l believe that they would both facilitate life for humans and provide people with a safer life. Two of the principal reasons for this are as follows. The strongest argument in favour of self-driving cars is that of public security. Although the artificial intelligence used in these cars is the product of human thought, which is liable to error, I would contend that this technology would result in a considerable decrease in both the number and severity of fatal car accidents globally. Surprisingly, in a simulated experiment done by ArcGIS software in 2020, these cars are capable of reducing deadly collisions especially, for drunk drivers up to 99 per cent. Admittedly, saving time and energy would be a significant merit. Instead of wasting time driving, that time could be used for relaxing as well as studying. Even more importantly though, would be the revolutionary in the employment industry. In spite of the unemployment of some traditional jobs including taxi drivers or truck drivers, the emergence of more professions for producing and servicing these smart vehicles will be undeniable in the foreseeable future. It, therefore, demands more educated and skilled workers with problem-solving thinking and innovative abilities. By the way of conclusion, given the benefits associated with this trend, I once again reaffirm my position that eliminating such conventional cars and utilizing driverless ones would obviate disastrous challenges that humans are struggling with nowadays.