Some people argue that keeping pets is beneficial for longevity while others believe that household animals are not healthy for people to have as companions. Discuss both sides of the argument and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have different views about whether it is beneficial to have a pet at home. Some suggest that pets will promote the longevity of humans as pets bring joy to the household, while some disagree as they believe that pets are unhygienic and will cause health problems in humans. An elaboration of both points of view with relevant examples and personal experience will be highlighted in this essay. Pets, such as dogs and cats, are commonly embraced as they bring joy and companionship to people and families. Their presence always gives emotional support, providing comfort and reducing stress levels for their owners. In my own experience, playing with my dog after I come home from university helps to reduce my anxiety and stress. Moreover, some studies even suggest that interacting with pets can promote longevity by fostering a sense of happiness within households. However, a counterargument believes pets are unhygienic and can cause health issues in humans. Some animals carry allergens in their fur or shed parasites that can trigger health problems in humans. For instance, cat fur has been known to trigger allergies, particularly causing harm to individuals with conditions like asthma. Consequently, owning pets may be life-threatening to some individuals. In conclusion, pet keeping can be beneficial and harmful to the household, which totally depends on their health condition. Pets can increase a person's level of happiness and ultimately their longevity. Nonetheless, for individuals with underlying health issues, the presence of pets may exacerbate their conditions, causing potential harm.