Some people do not go directly to college but travel or work for a short time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking a short break before starting higher education has become popular nowadays among young people. While some travel around the world during this break, some enter into work life for their own reason. Although it will stretch the duration of students ' educational journey, they will get very previous knowledge and experience during this period. Students will lose a few years if they do not immediately enter into tertiary education after their O levels. Even though it may be unnoticeable at first, they will start to see the difference when they meet their high school friends from the same cohort. They could get the feeling of being behind others or even regret when they talk to their friends who are already earning a stable income and have their own families. My high school friend could not immediately start her degree study because she had to work to support her family, and also to save for her university study. As a result, she was still a sophomore in the year I graduated. On the other hand, having a break before entering into higher education could actually benefit the students very well, as long as they are not wasting time during it. Some youngsters go backpacking trips to explore the world. Though it may seem like they are just wasting time and money, they are actually getting the experience and knowledge from the people who have different cultural backgrounds. Some people work during this break which gives them the work experience which is very much sought after by the employers. Additionally, the experience and knowledge gathered during the study break help them in finding out what they want to be and what they have to do in order to achieve their dreams. In conclusion, even though working or travelling before starting tertiary education could delay the study life of students, they gain the most during this period which could help them make decisions, not only in their higher education study but also throughout their lives.