In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this a positive or negative situation?

Nowadays, many people value the idea of becoming a homeowner than being a tenant. It is often thought to be a bad idea to rent an apartment rather than buy it. I will be discussing the reason for it in this essay. To begin with, there are several reasons why people would prefer to own a house rather than rent one. Firstly, owning a house gives a sense of personal achievement and freedom that tenants can not enjoy. House owners have more freedom in constructing and designing house the way they want. For example, one living in a rented apartment has no right to make changes to the home as it is not their property, while a landlord can freely design or refurnish the place to suit their tastes. For the reasons mentioned above, I believe homeownership is a positive trend. However, there are a few drawbacks to owning a house as well. Firstly, they would have to make a quite large investment to buy the property. The value of the properties keeps changing and one might not be able to sell the property at a good rate in the future. Secondly, it’s quite difficult for the landlords to move as compared to the tenant. For instance, if the landlord no longer likes the locality they can’t just simply move like the tenants, they would have to first sell the property which could take a few months to years. Also, landlords have to spend a significant amount on maintenance every year to maintain the property. In conclusion, although there are some negative elements, I strongly believe that positive sides do outweigh negative ones. It is a good idea for people to own a house compared to renting.