Children can learn effectively through watching TV. Therefore children should be encouraged to watch TV regularly both at home and at school. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is true that people, including children, can learn a lot of knowledge through watching TV as the TV industry develops. While some people advocate that children should be encouraged to watch TV regularly, I cannot agree with this view, because I think the disadvantages of watching TV outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, we have to admit that there are some merits for children in terms of watching TV for learning. Firstly, as there are all kinds of programs on TV, children can learn a lot of knowledge from them, which could broaden their horizons. Besides, TV content could be used as a complementary part of school education. Secondly, being a vivid form of visual and auditory combined, TV could enhance the efficiency of children ’s learning. For example, having been transformed into cartoon films or movies, many classic literature works have become easier to understand by children, as the paper form is boring and difficult for them to read. On the other hand, the demerits of children watching TV frequently are more obvious. First, children cannot learn much useful knowledge from TV due to the lack of systematic and consistent educational context. In fact, watching TV randomly most of the time, children will obtain little help in learning from this fractional knowledge. Furthermore, some of this chaotic knowledge even results in some conflicts with that of receiving from teachers. Finally, there are many kinds of themes on TV and most of them are not suitable for children, which may generate negative effects on them. More importantly, if they imitate some violent behaviours learned from TV, some children may have the risk of becoming delinquent in the real world. In a nutshell, I cannot agree with the view that encouraging children to watch TV regularly both at home and school, though it has some advantages. In my opinion, children could watch TV under the guidance and accompanying of teachers or parents, with limited time and content.