Some children spent more hours on smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Today, some children tend to more time on mobile phones. This is mainly because of the digitalization of education and in my point of view, this is a positive development because of the enhanced learning efficiency. It has become apparent that, following the pandemic situation, all the studies were converted into electronic format and it led the majority of children to own a device, mainly a mobile phone to access their school work. As a consequence, children had to spend more or less time that they used to spend on school or classes, on-screen either to participate in the classes or complete the assigned tasks. For example, research carried out by a team of the University of California concluded that, the average time spent by a child on a digital screen has increased by 20% in 2022 compared with that of 2018. I believe that, this should be seen as a positive development because children are not required to go to more classes to learn and they can learn at their own pace, conveniently. For instance, teachers used to upload what they have taught during the class to social media platforms where everyone has equal access to view the lessons without any restrictions. Like in the past, it is not necessary to go to classes in person, instead, they can refer to the same lessons at home leisurely. On top of that, this distance learning has cut down costs associated with travelling and other minor expenses and ultimately, children can experience a comfortable learning environment as well. In conclusion, the time spent on smartphones by children is growing rapidly. This is primarily because of the significant alterations that have been made in the education system to convert it into electronic form and moreover, this should be seen as a positive development because the productivity of children has enhanced dramatically.