Some people say that older people should live with their adult children, while others think they should live in homes specially built for old people. Which do you think is a better practice?

The reality in life is that the elderly community have to spend their last days somewhere. Let us look at the issue in terms of the priorities of the adult children and why this practice is undesirable and unacceptable, in my opinion. In today’s society, adult children often consider their elderly parents to be a nuisance that should be dealt with in the most acceptable way possible. That is the reason why so many retirement villages and old-age homes are being built these days. The old people and pensioners are put (placed) there so as not to be in the way of their children. For example, the adults concerned now have children of their own to provide for and educate, and they feel their own offsprings are their highest priority. I believe this is a very (extremely) selfish and foolish practice. First, the old population have most probably made many sacrifices and endured many hardships to ensure that their heirs received a good upbringing, education, and training. They would, for instance, have worked very hard for many years to pay for their children ’s class (fees at school or college - more so if they have given their children the chance (opportunity) to study abroad. To be pushed aside in their old age by their adult children is unthankful, selfish, and even cruel. To sum up, I could say that adult children have other priorities but should not become selfish and unthankful in the process. To me, there is only one conclusion: elderly people should live with their adult children.