Many people think that every individual is responsible for their happiness, but some people believe there are other external factors that influence us. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that people's happiness is affected by some factors that they cannot control, while others say that whether people will become happy or not depends on themselves. In my opinion, I support the latter opinion because thinking about things positively toward the future leads to happiness regardless of their richness. First, it is often said that an individual's happiness is not caused by their own effort since there are some factors that people can not control. One of the most notable factors is a great disaster such as an earthquake or an act of terrorism. For example, the Great East Japan Earthquake occurred in the eastern part of Japan and the World Trade Center attack happened in New York. These terrible events were unpredictable respectively but dramatically changed the lives of those who had lived happily in the region until then. However, I believe that an individual's happiness depends on their own endeavor because positive thinking about the future produce happiness regardless of their richness. Actually, some people are not happy even in developed countries, On the other hand, there are people who live happily even in developing countries. According to the World Happiness Ranking 2020 which was announced by United Nations, Vietnam ranked in the top 10th, while Japan is around 30th, that is much lower than Vietnam. In addition, one of the factors that determine the ranking is whether people have expectations for the future. Therefore, in order to live a happy life, it is important for them to think positively about the future. In conclusion, Although it is true that the pursuit of happiness can be disturbed by uncontrollable incidents, I argue that happiness can be brought about by each individual's mindset.