In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Travelling with a vehicle that has no driver will be an undeniable fact in the near future. Passengers will be the sole ones who are in these smart vehicles. While there will be some drawbacks associated with this kind of technology, I believe the main benefits will be more substantial. On the one hand, a potential disadvantage of this new technology can lose drivers’ jobs and also their only source of revenue. However, thanks to technology, they will likely be able to find an online job if they raise their awareness of new opportunities that are provided by widespread access to the Internet, and, in turn, they will probably be able to spend long hours with their families while they are doing their online work at home. On the other hand, a primary advantage of using artificial intelligence in transportation, which is inevitable in the near future, is that it will be more accurate than conventional methods. Therefore, the number of accidents that was stemmed from careless drivers in the past will be reduced. A further benefit is that the public transportation system, for instance, will be more reliable and frequent. Due to the fact that the means of public transportation will be programmed, they will be on time on a regular basis and more likely work efficiently. To conclude, it is true that driverless vehicles would seem to have disadvantages under certain circumstances, such as being unemployed. However, in my view, its positive effects in terms of being reliable and frequent, as well as boosting driving accuracy, override its disadvantages.