Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Rather than buying imported goods, some individuals are preferring to purchase goods which are locally produced. In my opinion, it is a positive trend as it is cheap and decreases pollution. The main reason for choosing locally grown things is that they are cost-efficient and economical for a middle-class person. For example, in India avocados are imported from the USA and one avocado costs 500 rupees, on the other hand, one kilogram of mangoes is only 60 rupees. Furthermore, when goods such as fruits are imported, they are sprayed with preservatives so that they can keep longer. However, these preservatives can cause many diseases such as cancer. For instance, research by American doctors in New York found that digestive infections such as vomiting or hepatitis are mainly caused by the excess use of chemicals in food. Additionally, buying international food is the main of cause air pollution because they are imported from either aeroplanes or by ships. These means of transportation are run on fossil fuels like petrol which when burned releases carbon dioxide in the air, causing air pollution and global warming. For example, one international plane of Air Canada releases 2 kgs of carbon dioxide when it travels from Canada to Mexico. In conclusion, the trend in some individuals to choose locally grown products over international products is increasing, and I believe that buying local products is a positive trend as it is beneficial for an individual as well as the country because it is cheap and pollution-free.