Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music plays a vital role in our lives. It is asserted by some people that music is an effective means of strengthening the bond between individuals from different cultural backgrounds and generations. I wholeheartedly advocate this assertion based on some rational reasons. The first underlying justification is music has an exceptional ability to evoke a wide range of feelings of the listeners such as happiness, sadness, excitement and anger irrespective of their countries or languages. Although it is true that the lyrics of a song might be incomprehensible for everyone due to language barriers, its melody is linguistically neutral. To be more precise, in order to feel the melody of a song, the listeners do not need to completely understand the language in which the song is written. An obvious example of it is a Japanese may shed tears while listening to a romantic piece of music written by an American musician. This is clear evidence that shows music is a universal language that transcends all cultural boundaries. Another compelling reason is that music is a common ground for people to understand each other regardless of their age. Nowadays, it is not surprising to see not only young individuals are desperately in love with nostalgic songs released several years back, but also modern music genres such as pop, uptempo ruck are becoming increasingly popular amongst elders. For instance, it is commonplace to see a family with different generations are gathered together in a living room while listening and dancing to the same music happily. In conclusion, however, it seems that every country has particular music which may hardly be understandable for non-natives, I personally believe that music acts as a powerful way of uniting people with cultural differences in all corners of the globe.