As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that car users should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The attitude of today's society has enabled numerous amount of individuals to have an automobile; as a result, the road infrastructure has enquired enormous investments. Some advocates claim that car owners are responsible for upgrading the system; however, in my opinion, it is the local authorities' liability to cover the expenses. The feasible reason why drivers should invest their funds on roads is the proliferation of private cars. To be precise, today every tenth resident is eager to possess a vehicle even though there is a lack of its necessity. Undoubtedly, contemporary countries are packed with an ample number of automobiles causing a potential deterioration of the road condition. Indeed, the USA is a prime example of how a car is overused where every resident utilizes it even for shopping goods in a walking distance store. Consequently, it is reasonable to assign the costs to car owners for maintaining and enhancing the infrastructure. However, in my point of view, people who are in power are the ones who are obliged to provide their citizens with an appropriate transportation system inasmuch as they are already charged an exorbitant amount of tax in order to reside in a well-developed country. To illustrate, people living in Scandinavian countries are forced to part with forty per cent of their income to cover taxation and fairly they anticipate the funds would be allocated on road infrastructure investment. Therefore, if the government considers laying the responsibility for road upgrade works on their town dwellers, it will certainly cause public backlash or outcry as it is inhumane to put the extra financial burden on them. In summary, although it is quite adequate to deem that car owners are ought to support the road condition, I am highly convinced that the issue concerning road maintenance costs should be covered by the government.