Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons for this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

It is argued that cycling is highly beneficial in terms of health and the environment. However, cycling has become less popular nowadays. There are a few reasons behind such a trend, but there are several solutions to tackle the issue as well. Initially, the main reason why people tend to avoid cycling lies in the insufficient number of bike routes in the cities. Furthermore, riding a bike on the streets with a massive number of cars is risky and irresponsible. For instance, if the cyclist is forced to use a street where traffic is high, he will choose safer options such as a car or bus without putting his own life in danger. Additionally, bike riding is more physically demanding than other forms of transport, therefore not accurate to everyone, for instance, for people with obesity or some health issues. However, there are plenty of solutions that can help solve these problems with ease. Firstly, cities’ officials should consider adjusting their urban plans and include more bike routes that will connect several district inner cities. It will lower the traffic and encourage people to use bikes instead of cars or buses. Secondly, if the city council provides some bonuses or incentives for people who purchased a bike, it could dramatically increase the interest in bike riding among citizens. To conclude, commuting by bike is highly recommended in terms of health and has a positive impact on the environment. Although the popularity of such transport is dropping, an increased number of bike routes or any financial support in purchasing a bicycle would likely reverse that trend.