The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment.Do you agree or disagree?

The average life expectancy of human life has decreased exponentially in recent years. Accordingly, some people suggest that the government should diminish the amount of money allocated for expenditures on environmental amendments and focus on medical research and provide more economical resources instead. While I accept that citizens' health is a more serious case than the environment, I would argue that resorting to paying less attention to the environment is not a permanent solution. Medical research are an indispensable part of society's future so I believe that it is appropriate that governments spend more money on it. Firstly, the number of disease has increased markedly and every day a new genre of disease emerges. Thus, governments should direct their attention to medical research rather than environmental issues. Secondly, the environment can be existed by itself without any human intervention. Moreover, research indicates that the environment can rebuild itself in a short time even if people devastates it completely so I welcome this idea. On the other hand, it is not also an approach that the governments spend no money on the environment. The quality of human healthcare and the healthy environment are directly proportional. To illustrate, people living in cities without any trees are more likely to catch a disease, as the air that they breathe is dirty because trees are responsible to refine air. It is unquestionable that people rely on the environment even if the environment does not. Apart from that, many doctors suggest to their patients that travelling to a place where is a repository of natural beauties may contribute to their health situations. In conclusion, I agree with the argument and it is acceptable to some extent. It may be more beneficial for people that the government spend more money on healthcare expenditures. However, it should be kept in mind that the environment is also a bulk part of human life.