With the development of scocial media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in ordet to meet and chat with friends which can lead to pottentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggesr to deal with this problem?

Social media is a platform which people can use to interact with each other. Hence, it becomes so accessible to people of all ages including children. With the existence of social media, there will inevitably be irresponsible people who use this platform. Thus, in this essay, I will present some solutions that can be taken to prevent the unexpected situation. Firstly, knowing the dangers of social media would be useful. The government should make learning about the dangers of the internet mandatory, and a good way to do it is to implement it in schools. Children would learn about the potential dangers of social media and how to avoid them, but the drawback is that hiring new teachers could take up resources and teaching them could take time, but this could be a waste if some of them do not take the lessons seriously. In addition, parents should utilize parental monitoring software to monitor their children’s online activity. It keeps parents notified about their online interactions, ensuring they are aware of any potential threats. Nevertheless, the drawback is that it will invade their privacy and could lead to trust issues between parents and their sons and daughters. Finally, the government should instate and enforce a law that requires someone to be above a certain age to have a social media account, which could prevent immature youngsters from interacting with online predators, making the internet safer for younger users. The downside is that if the law is not strictly enforced, they might find ways to bypass age restrictions, rendering the law less effective. In conclusion, children trying to meet new friends could encounter foreigners with bad malicious intentions and behaviour, which could lead to hazardous situations by giving education about social media, parental monitoring, and enforcing laws on the usage of digital accounts.