Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or anegative trend?

These days, many customers prefer to purchase locally produced goods rather than imported products. I strongly support them, since this simple action not only could be beneficial for an individual’s financial situation but also could lead to the progress of a country. To commence with, supporting local production, could result in improving the gross domestic product (GDP) of a country. GDP is an economic indicator which shows the gross income that a country can obtain from selling and exporting local products.To illustrate more, when people select national brands, they will encourage local producers to elevate the size of their business and acquire enough resources to improve the quality of their goods. Therefore, they even will be able to export their products. Consequently, the country could earn some revenue and spend it on developing the infrastructure. For instance, after the Second World War, Japanese people avoided importing various products and consumed their own local goods,even if the quality of things was not comparable with the imported samples, after some decades Japan became one of the most successful economic powers in the world. In addition, most of the time the price of local products is more reasonable. As a result, individuals could save some money when they choose domestic goods. For example, while the quality of some Iranian clothes is comparable with European brands, their price is lower. Needless to mention, local goods can have a positive effect on the environment, because they usually need less transportation, so their carbon footprints will be less. In a nutshell, Supporting local products could result in many advantages for individuals and society.