Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the advantages of technologies, using social media such as LinkedIn, Facebook and Instagram became common in the daily life of this generation. Some people argue that the negative impact of this on their users is extremely dangerous. I tend to agree with the above statement since these social-media sites not only make individuals addicted but also create a cyberbullying culture on the social level. First of all, social-media addictions become more popular than anything else in the last decade. It is possible to observe people looking at their phones at the train station, while having meals, in schools and even while driving. The downside is not only the lack of attention they had developed but also the sense of reality they have lost. For instance, people prefer to spend time on social media instead of enjoying family moments, it seems that having followers and likes on these websites are their priority. Moreover, people tend to make physical or economic comparisons between themselves and others, and of course, when it occurs, they feel depressed. The second reason that I believe that social networking is harmful to the mental health of adolescents and adults as a role, is the increase in crimes involving cyberbullying. On the internet everyone can be anonymous and say words that would never be said, and the consequences of it in some cases can be fatal. Although there are some laws in order to protect the victims of cyberbullying, for instance, here in Brazil, Carolina Dickman’s law, identifies this transgressor as the biggest challenge to the police. In conclusion, although social media has been created with a purpose to promote interaction among people around the world, using it without control is harmful to society. Moreover, I believe that face to face interactions should never be replaced by social networking.