Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Several individuals think that youths must be demanded to engage in voluntary jobs during their spare time and that this is for their own as well as the society’s advantage. I totally agree with the foregoing. The essay will discuss my position at length. First, unpaid community work is ideal for teenagers. It allows them to experience workplaces and possibly be inspired in choosing future careers. In a 2008 Newyork Times Newspaper report, it was argued that 40 per cent of the young people who did free part-time work with particular companies in the United States of America went on enrol for University programs and pursued careers related to those industrial experiences. Secondly, when the youthful populations exploit volunteering when free, it’s not only beneficial to them though seizing to laze around with no purpose during free time, but also to communities through significantly reducing juvenile crimes. In the crime hub of South Africa, Johannesburg, a 5 per cent reduction in delinquent behaviours was reported by the local police department in the year 2014 owing to several companies recruiting several thousands of the city’s teens for short-term apprentice and mentorship schemes over the school holidays. In conclusion, exposure to industries and curtailed crime rates are some of the benefits to teenaged individuals and the community at large when the former choose to volunteer with organisations in their rest time. Due to these explored reasons and more, the essay completely concurs that these unpaid jobs should be a must for younger persons.