A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defence but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

It is of paramount importance to protect populations by the government. Some consider that the regulators should emphasize spending an extended budget on national defence rather than spending on social welfare. As the vitality of both subjects, these should be symmetrically examined. In this essay, I will look into related factors and illustrate my opinion on this. It is believed by some that national security should be strengthened by the policies and further amount of expenditure should be reflected in long-term planning and strategies. This is because there is a major concern that the country may face an international fight although we are living in a modern era, there are some countries such as Lebanon, Ukraine and Afghanistan that are experiencing serious war these days. Thus, a number of residents think that the cost of national protection should be prioritised and reconsidered. By contrast, many countries are facing issues with social welfare facilities and functions as the human growth and ageing population. For instance, there are many elders who have challenges as a lack of family support and financial support and these people definitely have to be supported by their mother country. On top of that supporting society in many ways has an impact on sustainable economic growth which in return the development of the country will be sustained. Therefore, it is beneficial to better support the area of social community for long-term success. In conclusion, I opine that focusing on both the national defence and social welfare should be equally treated as crucial. Therefore balancing the budget on both should be maintained for the development of the countries.