Nowadays, sports is a big business with high earnings for professional sports people and companies involved both financially and other ways. Is this a positive or negative development for sports? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Sporting activities have become a large enterprise with significant monetary and other benefits for athletes and sports organisations. This essay forwards that this is overall a positive development but the negatives are worth considering. This will be discussed at length below. To begin with, due to increasing advantages, competition tends to also rise to lead to the qualitative advancement of the entire sport. This is because resource endowed sporting groups hire the best talents available and compete at their highest level given the rewards and systemic improvements these rewards provide. This is why a team like Manchester City football club, a previous nonentity in the English premier league, is suddenly a highly competing enterprise, winning successive silverware following massive investment into the club by middle eastern billionaires. Secondly, staff in such well-resourced teams are usually fully committed to their jobs. This is due to the lure of the compensation package but also because of fear of being easily replaced. In a 2010 Talksport television interview, one pundit argued that coaches of big sporting teams usually sleep less and work more because such institutions have higher expectations, not to mention that they easily pull the trigger when the results are not commensurate with the investment. On the contrary, corruption has swept its way into the core of most contemporary sporting systems. Be it, directors, answering lawsuits of fund mismanagement or sportspersons being banned for faking their ages or using drugs to enhance their talents. Fortunately, and from my experience and knowledge as a soccer fanatic, such corruption cases are usually brought to book, for example, the Brazillian soccer star, Neymar, had to pay back billions he owed to Barcelona even after he had left the club for Paris Saint Germain So, while corruption is a cause for concern resulting from massive investments in sports, such perks as increased competition and commitment make this a worthy cause. I argue that high earnings for sportspersons and organisations are overall a positive development for sports.