Some people think that hosting international sports events may be beneficial for a country. Discuss both views.

Several individuals are of the view that being the host of worldwide sporting activities accrues positive externalities for a nation whereas others may claim otherwise. This essay agrees with the viewpoint of benefits gained. It discusses these first, such as financial and public relations advantages, but also delves into the opposite view of increased crime rates. The view that hosting world sports is advantageous for a country holds to a greater extent. This is because the country becomes the centre of global attention, not only in sporting terms but also in other aspects of the country like culture and business climate. This could see the nation benefit tourists, investors, and growing its economy as was the case in South Africa post 2010 soccer world cup when it emerged as the leading tourist and investment destination, and consequently financial hub of the continent. On the other hand, hosting global sporting events could be fatal, increasing crime rates and general insecurity. This is due to the rapid rise in the inflows of populations in the host nation as witnessed in the recently ended Olympics in Japan. But such population increases are normally followed by tight security mechanisms implemented by the host in collaboration with the governing body of the sport in question to ensure smooth proceedings. For example, the South African National Police Department in 2010 hired an extra 5000 police officers and sent them to different parts of the country to maintain sanity during the procession of the games. In conclusion, hosting international games certainly brings monetary and visibility advantages for the host nation, but such negative effects like crime must not be overlooked. Nevertheless, despite the cons discussed, this essay still concurs with the view that holding world sporting competitions is indeed more beneficial.