The mass media, including television, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people's ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that media such as television, radio and newspapers are very influential in shaping people's ideas. I completely agree with this opinion and will substantiate my reasoning during this essay. For starters, all 3 media outlets provide up-to-date local as well as international news. This means that they have the viewer's trust to provide accurate and factual information because before such details are shared with the public, they go through a thorough screening and various editing processes. This is why they have earned the public's trust. An example of this can be seen through the BBC and CNN networks and other various news channels. However, the drawback of social media, is that content can be uploaded onto the web by anyone under the false pretext of verified news, which could skew a potential reader's impression about a certain topic. Unfortunately, this is a common trend happening on many social websites. An instance of this can be seen with the current pandemic, where people can be seen posting untrue particulars regarding the virus, which others believe. In conclusion, I believe that mass media has a great influence on our daily lives and thereby feel they have a responsibility to ensure that they report unbiased and unprejudiced news to their viewers so that the public can make their assessments on a particular topic. Furthermore, I feel that social media outlets such as Facebook and Instagram, have a moral responsibility to ensure that any content posted on their sites must be fact-checked to ensure validity.