Literacy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem. Discuss possible causes for this and its effect on society.

It is certainly true to say that issues related to lack of education in developing countries are frequently discussed nowadays. There are several reasons for this global problem which has a significant negative effect on the quality of life in these countries and affects their economic development. Basically, the phenomenon may be caused by a variety of factors. First and foremost, there is a lack of schooling in developing countries due to a poor economic situation. Obviously, the governments of the Third World countries usually do not have sufficient funds to provide citizens with free education. Moreover, many families do not have access to computers or even books. Besides this, children are persuaded by their parents to work from the early age. For instance, many Indian youngsters are begging in the tourist zones instead of going to school. The effects of this are extremely serious. It is evident that education is the key to improving the economy of developing countries. Unless people in these countries gain academic skills and improve their intelligence, the countries will not increase their welfare. Furthermore, the most talented youth is moving overseas in order to receive qualitative education and apply their academic knowledge in specific fields. Additionally, uneducated people are more likely to become involved in crime and even terrorism. In particular, many global terrorist organizations were initially formed in Afghanistan, where education is generally neglected. In conclusion, it is clear that there are several causes of the low literacy rates in developing countries, and a variety of negative effects. Obviously, both individuals and governments should take a number of measures to prevent the problem from deteriorating further.