Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative developmment?

In present times, health problems are at their peak. A large number of individuals are using different types of medications and natural remedies instead of consulting their doctors. In my opinion, it is a negative development and I will explain my view with relevant examples. To commence with, taking medicines at home without consulting a doctor might have an adverse impact. To elaborate, patients use YouTube or other social media platforms to check the disease through symptoms and use those supplements which are prescribed in the video. Also, it is seen that many diseases have common signs at early stages. Let's look at the examples of pneumonia and typhoid. In both cases, patient first suffers from fever, cough and cold. No need to mention, these are two different diseases. Thus, consulting a healthcare advisor is important before taking any treatment. Taking the wrong medicines may have a long-term negative impact on the health of an individual. Moreover, there is no scientific evidence that this type of treatment cures the health problem quickly. In other words, such treatments show slow health improvement. For instance, Homeopathy has been criticized for not performing better than allopathic drugs. Additionally, diseases like cancer, diabetes, and AIDS are some of the diseases which should be detected at early stages and it is not possible without consulting a doctor. If, a Cancer patient relies on herbal treatments instead of taking chemotherapy, a patient may lose his/her life. Eventually, such home remedies may cause death. In conclusion, although there might be some benefits to treating minor health problems at home. However, in my opinion, taking treatments without talking to a healthcare professional can increase the problem and may be life-threatening due to its slow effect.