Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

There is a study that shows the tendency of returning to crime by those who are discharged from jail. This essay, firstly, will analyze the possible causes, secondly, propose some solutions in order to eradicate this issue. First of all, one of the reasons for the repetitive crime committed is societal pressure, to be more precise, the exposure to inmates’ influence. This implies that a perpetrator absorbs other convicts’ views as well as ideas, eventually, when he has served his sentence, he is eager to apply them in real life and live vicariously through them. Another significant reason to consider is that some of the convicts do not perceive themselves to be guilty. From the moment of imprisonment, they turn vengeful and wait for the moment to lash out at the rest of the world. Considering negative implications, a number of solutions to undertake can be given. In terms of criminals who committed severe crimes, such as rapists, terrorists, serial killers or murderers, they should be punished with the supreme penalty - the death sentence. This measure is needed since current prison regulations are not strict enough to make such convicts fully aware of their utterly egregious actions. In other cases, effective work can be done by providing prisoners with psychological help, vocational and educational programs. Hence, that would encourage them to gain new skills and build a healthy attitude towards the world, so when it is time to get released from prison, they effortlessly reintegrate into the community. To sum up, there are numerous reasons for repetitive crimes by convicts who are released from jail, the most effective would be mental pressure made by inmates and absence of awareness of committing a crime. This essay suggests that the reasonable approaches to undertake are mental and educational support as well as maximum punishment.