Some parents think it is good to have mobile phones for their children, others disagree with it. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The current smartphone brings enormous convenience to our lives, but on the other hand, it also brings negative effects to us. So, many parents have the same concern about whether they give mobile phones to their children. In the following, I will discuss the advantages, disadvantages, and give my opinion. Mobile phones can be a tool to help children in their studies. Many learning apps can download on the phone quickly. For example, some app is for language learning, maths practice exercise, and dictionary. Through the colourful picture and animation, children are more interested in focusing on studying. Moreover, many schools have been used mobile phones in teaching and need students to discuss their assignments in the phone chat group. Apart from the study, parents also can find their kids through phone calls and knowing their children's location. When the danger comes, children can call the police for help with the security problem. However, there are still some negative effects on the children's health, especially their eyes if they spend a lot of time on their phones. Sometimes, they will easily distract by social media, such as Facebook and Instagram. They might get pressured and over-worried from the number of followers, subscriptions, and likes. They will spend lesser time with their friends and family but live in the virtual world. In summary, the ubiquity of cell phones is hard to avoid. In my opinion, the most vital thing is parents should teach their kids how to use their phones properly. For example, they can limit the use time and stay with their children while playing on the phone.