Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world’s meat consumption should be reduced. What measures could be taken to reduce the world’s meat consumption? What kinds of problem might such measures cause?

These days, the areas for growing cattle and poultry are reported to be comparatively larger than that of crops. Therefore, it is necessary for the consumption of meat to decline due to the lack of land for cultivation. This essay will elaborate more on how to lower the preference for meat and the influences that might result f rom. Firstly, the governments can interfere by enacting regulations to restrict the budget for breeding. Once the supply is limited, the private investment in this field will decrease and the amount s pending on final products will increase as a result. The productivity of vegetables, on the other hand, may rise owing to the interference of the authorities. The changing of the price will have an effect on the consumption behaviours of customers, especially those whose income is at the average level. For instance, a housewife who has to make both ends meet tends to choose products with reasonable expenses when she goes shopping for food. The second measure to be taken is the promulgation of nutrition and vitamin contained in a wide range of crops. As for the citizens who are wealthy, they are inclined to care more about their health. Hence, if they are conscious of the significant benefits that vegetables and fruits offer, they certainly consume more of them. The reduction of meat consumption may lead to the emergence of several issues. In terms of economy, the transit from breeding to other kinds of production means that it costs money and attempt for the new movement to take place. Providing that the modification is not planned thoroughly, it then is a waste of resources for a nation. Another problem is the influence on people who eat meat all the time. For example, if one is a meat -eater, it takes him some time to get used to a new diet. He might feel that his body is suffering due to the insufficiency of meat. This is how the change affects t o d ifferent aspects of daily lives. In conclusion, land for breeding can decrease by the increase of the product price and the awareness of consumers’ health. There could be issues triggered by this change; nonetheless, in the long term, it is possible that other solutions are proposed.