Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possiblein scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe thatsome information is too important or valuable to be shared freely.

According to some, the sharing of information in business, academia, and science is beneficial and positive, whereas others believe that certain kinds of information should be not be shared due to their value and importance. In my view, the dissemination of some types of knowledge is a positive step for society. This essay will discuss, how medical research can be advanced by shared knowledge, and why some business details should be kept secret. The widespread dissemination of scientific knowledge is a goal that all society should welcome. I believe the benefits of sharing medical research needs to be encouraged as a failure to do so may cost lives. For example, one reason why scientists attend conferences is to present new research and findings into common problems, such as cancer, and other diseases. By sharing, scientists can come up with cures much faster together than working apart. However, not all data ought to be shared as it may prove too costly to do so, such as business details, in trade, and share prices, etc. For this reason, I would agree that certain types of information should not be widespread. For example, if a speculator had advance warning of stock prices they could manipulate the market and cause the company to go bankrupt, costing people their jobs, and possibly their savings also. The danger then is that having such detailed economic information freely available may be used by some people to profit at the expense of others. In conclusion, whether the sharing of information is a positive or negative step is debatable, in my,opinion some knowledge should be shared freely, such as for scientific studies. That being said, I would agree also that other more sensitive data,in the financial area, need not be so widespread for fear of causing economic instability.