Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Tourism is a multi-pound industry and it is an undeniable fact that it is contributing greatly towards economic development. But, it is often argued that environmental degradation and loss of local tradition are due to the evolution of the the tourism industry. This essay completely agrees with the statement. I believe that reliance on natural resources for infrastructure and facilities as well as invasion of foreign culture are the primary causes for the exploitation. Firstly, tourism relies too much on our environmental resources. This is because they are exploiting the atmosphere to construct hotels and buildings for accommodations. For instance, beautiful beaches are spoilt by the construction of resorts. In addition, forests are destroyed to make tourists places which in turn impacts the habitat of wild animals. Even though such beautiful places attract thousands of visitors, ultimately we are depleting the resources as well as the balance of the ecosystem. Secondly, people are exposed to a variety of cultures. It means to say that local civilians are attracted towards foreign culture and they tend to follow their tradition as means of adaptation. As a result, local rituals and practices can be endangered. To exemplify this, wearing jeans and a T-shirt has become a common costume due to the invasion of English culture. People forgot to wear their own traditional clothes and neglected to maintain their own identities. To conclude, although tourism has a positive influence on the economy of the country, it is highly significant to protect our environment from degradation and preserve our own cultural practices.