Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a dispute over the impingement of social networking websites on personal and social levels, whether it is harmful or not. In my perspective, I discord with the opinion that those sites impinge negatively on different community levels. On the one hand, there are several justifications to disapprove of the adverse effects of social websites. First and foremost, the social network helps connect people across borders without travelling anywhere. For instance, while family and old friends can get updates and keep in touch via Facebook posts or video calls, employers can recruit international employees via Linkedin. Secondly, through online forums, users can find their own communities, who share common interests and issues, hence, offer virtual support for those who need it. For example, several forums provide professional therapy, counselling, and treatment for depression patients. On the other hand, many argue that networking sites damage immensely humans, especially the youth. Those sites can affect the mental development of pre-teens and teenagers. Due to the openness and freedom of Internet platforms, without content censorship, young users can suffer cyberbullying such as body shaming, masquerading, or cyberstalking. If they have no experience dealing with those situations, they will get mental disorders like anxiety or depression. Moreover, the social network is where individuals show off their happiness and achievement, thus, giving others peer pressure. Desiring to receive extolling the virtues, many overpay to rent billions dollar cars and villas, thus, making them fall into debt. In conclusion, whilst networking sites can have immense adverse effects on individuals and society, I firmly contemplate that with appropriate censorship and intervention, those websites will support connecting the outer world.