In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development.

During past few years, the population's prefrence to do shopping in malls and big shopping centers over small shops has put the local busniess to an end. In my case, I think this is a negative development because of certain reasons which are breifed in upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, Firstly, closing of the local shops has impact our economy as poor shopkeppers who can not afford a big shop suffers great lose. This will not only effect employment but also people's valuable time. For instance, according a recent article in Times of India, 30% of poplulation is unemplyed employed which leads to increase in poverty. the country should think about local people's employment rather than going to big malls. Furthermore, travelling to a nearby shop saves time and money rather than travelling 10 km to a mall for one or two things. This explains clearly that shutting down of narby small shops has effected our lifestyle and development. Nonetheless, on the other hand, big malls and massive shopping centers represent good infrastructure of the country which helps in the development. Folks prefer to go to these centres as there are many shops in a complex and they have more choices instead of going to a small shop. For example, Chandigarh is one of the famous city in India because of its unique infrastructure. you can big shopping centers in almost each sector. However in a small city like Rajasthan one can experience traditional markets. As a result people prefer to stay in Chandigarh than Rajasthan because of modern lifestyle and more choices. to Conclude, the closure of small local shops has had a negative impact on our country's development because of increase in unemployment and loss of time but large shopping centres helps our country to take a step for development.