Nowadays,many old cities are rebuilt and redesigned(with older buildings knocked down)in order to look modern.Discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this practice.

The controversial topic with the respect to the redesign of old cities never fails to attract public attention.As far as I am concerned,I tend to agree that its benefits are far more than its disadvantages. Admittedly,some ancient buildings,especially those with aesthetic value,do deserve to be well preserved.Since these constructions comprise both historical value and attracting appearance,they can certainly boost the tourist industry,which is quite profitable and substantially increase our national revenue. Furthermore,the reconstruction of a city will damage a city or country’s architectural heritage,as older buildings normally represent a unique architectural style. For example,if the forbidden city were demolished,Beijing would not be distinct from New York.The collapse of classical architecture can erode people’s sense of identity, because their aesthetic values will converge. However,constructing modern buildings meets the urgent need of the current situation. This is largely due to the fact that with the soaring population in urban areas,especially in metropolises,the housing problems become aggravating.Newly-established buildings are always high-rise ones that could accommodate more people without occupying much ground space,which could minimize the pressure brought about by the population explosion.Apart from the housing pressure,another advantage is that the sustainability and durability of new buildings are usually more desirable than the old ones.Thanks to the advances in high technology,new buildings often enjoy more reasonable structure and better building materials,which provide people with comfortable living surroundings,and meanwhile enables them to cope with natural disasters, such as earthquakes. In conclusion,as older buildings is rather limited and most old ones do not possess both values mentioned above,demolishing them is more essential.