Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problem. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are various inevitable challenges faced by foreigners residing in a different country. One of the issues is the language barrier that induces detrimental effects on the expatriates living abroad. I totally agree with this statement because language barriers can cause social isolation and potential risks in emergency situations. First and foremost, not being able to converse in the local language may cause social problems as well as a deep sense of isolation. It is simply because native speakers perhaps look down on foreigners when they try to articulate their thought in their accent. After repeated multiple awkward social interactions with the same unwelcoming pattern, they come to a conclusion in which they feel incompetent, insecure and even undesired. For example, the Egyptian Gazette reports that in some countries, such as America, the Egyptian population suffers from a high rate of social isolation due to to development of avoidant social behaviours. Secondly, having language barriers also may cause potential risks and dangers effects when they face emergency cases. For instance, when Chinese people living in French-speaking countries go to the hospital for any kind of emergency, they might not be able to convey the exact health problem in the right terms or any allergies the patient is having. Moreover, this situation poses a danger to the life of the patient and medical practitioners might miss out important health details about the patient because of the miscommunication. In conclusion, I totally agree that the language barrier has a challenging impact on any foreigner’s social and practical life. However, these serious issues can be overcome with the government’s support by providing free language classes in order for the foreign residents to fit in with the local people.