The government should allocate more funding to teaching sciences rather than other subjects for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree?

Ever since the technological epoch took place, it is considered that the progression of any nation majorly relies on how many science -based resources a country has. Hence, a proposal of investing more capital on mainstream subjects than art subjects is put forwarded which in my perspective appears superficially attractive, though, in such pursuit, other subjects ought not to be overlooked. It is indubitable that by assimilating the knowledge of science any region would become self-sufficient. As scientific innovations contribute to progress in the field of medical science and even in space exploration, if a budget is allocated on providing science -related education, the prospect of a country’s development opens up. In long run, highly educated citizens would accelerate the growth by not only providing the services to the public but also by making discoveries. An example of this could be taken from the outbreak of covid-19 when developed Nations because of their advanced know-how of science became able to control the rage of this pandemic by innovating vaccines at the right time. Had developing Nations acquired such knowledge, their situation would not get worse. Although the above discussion makes it appealing to subsidize science subjects relatively more than other subjects, the significance of art in the holistic development of the human mind cannot be neglected. Since, school curriculum, more often than not, supports rote learning, a major focus on academic subjects may halt psychological growth and may restrict learners to be creative and imaginative. An article of ‘The Hindus’, for example, also suggested that 8 out of 10 science students lack creativity while encountering any real-life situation. Apart from this, inculcation of art and craft gives opportunity to the pupils to broaden their horizon before chasing their career, apparently giving birth to many singers, dancers and painters. Therefore, these should be also equally addressed in an educational setting. To conclude, it can be asserted that instead of providing higher financial support to mainstream subjects which no doubt is a prerequisite for a country’s development, equivalent importance needs to be given to other subjects so that individuals do not have to limit themselves to only one area.