Art classes such as painting or drawing are important for children's development, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that whether or not art classes such as painting or drawing should be obligatory in high school. While I agree that these subjects are necessary, I strongly believe that they should only be optional subjects. To begin with, it is true that art classes would be beneficial for children's development. The reason is that these classes might help children develop completely. In more detail, while logical subjects such as sciences and maths might facilitate the development of logical intelligence, art subjects such as painting and drawing would benefit emotional intelligence. For example, children who study art classes could tend to be better at stress management and relationship management. Furthermore, art classes may help to find future talents in these subjects. For instance, Le Minh Khoa, whose talent was uncovered when joining a painting class in his school ten years ago, has now become a famous painter in Vietnam. If students do not join in art classes, their hidden talents would never be discovered. However, I disagree with the idea that art subjects should be mandatory in high school for various reasons. Firstly, because entrance exams of most universities do not include art subjects, it is unnecessary to force all students to join art classes. This is particularly the case for those who only focus on university entrance exams and not be interested in art classes. If they must unwillingly join in these classes, this would have a negative effect on their academic results. Furthermore, students who are reluctant to participate in art classes might not study effectively, which leads to a waste of time and money. For instance, my younger brother, who has to study painting in his school, is often tired in these classes. In conclusion, while I recognise that children's development benefits from art classes, it seems to me that art subjects should only be voluntary subjects.