In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In many developed countries, the average life period of each person is significantly improving. However, the grey population can lead to various issues for individuals and society and it should be dealt with by some effective solutions. To begin with, there are hosts of problems behind this phenomenon. The two main issues of the ageing population are adverse effects on the economy and financial burden on each individual. This trend severely affects national budgets and economic imbalance because the government has to pay more for the pension and medical care for older people. As a result, financial responsibility is added on the shoulder of the young generations through paying taxes. For example, the Japanese law had to spend subsidies from taxes fund to support the retired which put more pressure on their economy Several options can be adopted to tackle these problems. The measures would be to increase the retirement age for working adults and encourage immigration workers. Government can implement beneficial policies such as rising retired age from 65 - 70 instead of 60 - 65 compared to before but individuals in this age group need to ensure their health for continue working. Besides, the government can promote programs to attract workers from developing countries to build up human resources for their nation. Countries in Asia where there is a large number of employees are illustrated to set a good example. In conclusion, the increasing elderly population is a big challenge nowadays for every developed country. This trend influences the national economy and budgeting obligation on each citizen. Therefore, the solutions to these problems are extending the retirement age and promoting immigration employees.