Some people think that hosting international sports events may be beneficial for a country. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

International sports events always attract the attention of people from all over the world. Hosting those events can potentially influence the image of a city or a country. To my knowledge, a successful event can highly improve the reputation and attract investment. To begin with, it’s not only a company’s effort to hold a successful event but also the local government. For instance, the successful f1 grand Prix since 2004 in shanghai shows good governance and thus proved that it’s a stable and good place for capital. International sports events need an accurate schedule and a wide range of resources including transportation, security and so on, which can show the power of a government. That kind of power is also needed when developing a city or country. Moreover, big sports events, such as the Olympic games, can unite people in a country and thus boost the economy. To be specific, some survey shows that the economy in a developing country will surge after they had held the Olympic games by an average of 4 years. Though it’s hard to say which the result or cause, they are highly correlated. We can still say that their popularity growth is a factor of economic growth. By the way, jobs created by keeping stadiums running are also worth a fortune for the city. To sum up, the apparent advantage of hosting international sports events mostly overweight its disadvantage despite its potential benefits. The positive effect on citizens’ health can never be valued through money.