In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message ?

Evidence suggests that based on some cultures it is said to children by attempting hard anything can be achieved. While there are many benefits to this matter, there are also some drawbacks to consider. In this essay, both pons and cons will be discussed. On the plus side, the advantages of this message are manifold. To begin with, this statement gives children motivation. Simply put, they become more enthusiastic to try hard to gain whatever they want. For instance, a child who desires to be a famous athlete, as they believe hardworking person gain everything so they practice more to do their best. Moreover, with this sentence, a sense of optimism will be created in children ’s minds. In fact, being an optimist would be so effective to reach a goal. However, the downside cannot be ignored. Firstly, these kinds of sentences lead to unrealistic goals which could have a bad consequence on kids. Take a child who wants to be an artist as an example, they try hard but they are failed to be successful because they not only have a specific talent in this field but also there is not the proper situation for them such as good tutor, therefore, lots of attempts would not compensate these shortages so that they will give up. Children furthermore, do not get familiar with the concept of fail. In other words, they want to be successful in each condition otherwise, they might become depressed. In conclusion, telling children that they can gain everything just by arduous try although encourage kids to be more motivated and optimistic people, it may create unrealistic attitudes and depression for kids.