Some people say that universities should be concerned with educating people so that they will have wide general knowledge and be able to consider important matters from an informed viewpoint. Other people say that universities should simply train students to do the jobs required by society, and not concern themselves with broader issues.

Certain individuals argue that institutions of higher education must educate learners broadly to understand wider issues in societies whereas the other view is that these institutions must specialise in matters related to specific work requirements. I agree partly with both views although I am persuaded to conform more to the first. This position is justified in the essay below. First and foremost, when universities teach general knowledge they do not only equip graduates for jobs but for the society at large. Credit to most religious schools, like Solusi University in Zimbabwe, that adopt such a philosophy of education because while their graduates do secure jobs, they also become revered for being knowledgeable, humane and ethical. Secondly knowing broader issues ensures that the students can be considered for management positions in the future because managers are expected to know not just a specific trade, but also the political, economic, and other factors that influence the company. For instance, according to a recent survey, Solusi graduates comprise over 40 per cent of managers of big firms in Zimbabwe, 30 per cent more than contributions from other colleges. On the other hand, however, it can be prudent for colleges to just train learners on things that constitute a requirement in places of work. This has the advantage of making them specialists in their fields which is good for overall industrial and national growth. This is why, for example, medical doctors have specialist areas because the whole field is too broad and requires medical schools to break down areas of study so as to improve medical pro-actions and response to people with diverse ailments. Doctors, nevertheless, usually make bad bosses and sometimes fail to communicate well with people, because other aspects are not emphasised in their studies. Also, this would ensure that students do not waste their time and health on useless content like the 10 per cent medical students reported by a Newspaper in England who developed depression after failing to pass a course on history, which had nothing to do with their future jobs. In conclusion, therefore, while it could be best to train undergrads and post-grads in specifics so as to enhance their skills in particular trades like medicine, training them broadly in a variety of socio-cultural and economic issues, including general stuff, is prudent to equip them for the whole community as citizens, future managers and colleagues, not just their workplaces. This position was explained in the essay above.