It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaur, dodo…) There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people opine that extinction is a part of nature and preventing it from happening is futile. I partly disagree with this notion because there is a distinction between natural and human-induced extinction, and the latter may prove to be catastrophic to both humans and animals. On the one hand, it is neither useful nor financially possible to try to save every species on planet Earth. The natural environments and habitats have been changing for billions of years. Throughout this timeframe, animal species have adapted to the changes or evolved into new species in order to survive. While one day it may be technologically feasible to preserve all animals in artificial environments, it will surely cost a prohibitive amount of tax money for research and implementation. Furthermore, the objective of such projects is questionable as they only provide insights that only the elite scientists have the ability to grasp, and it does not address what I believe is the main cause of mass extinction: human activities. On the other hand, I argue that we must be conscious that a wave of human-influenced mass extinction can also negatively affect our survival and that we have to make efforts to save the important animals. Human activities have led to global climate change, deforestation, severe pollution, and overhunting that consequently put a plethora of animals on the brink of extinction, including the keystone species. This could inflict irreparable damage to our societies in its wake. Take sharks that prey on seals for example, their population has been on the decline, owing to overfishing. With the limited presence of their predators, the seal population has multiplied and they have started to consume other fish that humans use as food at an unprecedented rate. If rules and regulation or education are not established to stop fishermen from driving sharks out of existence, we could expect a shortage of fish as a protein source in the near future. In conclusion, I think that it is prudent for our society to ensure the survival of particular species. However, this must be done strategically as not to waste further resources.