Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

Numerous studies has proved that the majority of convicts return to prison second time after the release. In my opinion, the main reasons for that are social and psychological, while the solution could be only provided by the government. People who decide to violate the law usually have a number of common charecteristics that persist even after the end of the prison sentence. Criminals tend to have little of formal education, they are frequently unemployed, and have mental issues. Those charecteristics together with the criminal record significantly limit the individuals' ability to find a decent job and start making living in a legal way. Furthermore, the society tend to avoid ex-prisoners and is not very reciprocative, consequently, the person, who has just come out of prison and has no money, no shelter and no prospects, this person has to connect with his contacts from prison and other criminals from his past as this kind of individuals will not avoid him. Being connected with other criminals while having small opportunities in life cause people to commit crimes again as it is might be the only way for them to survive and it and acceptable behaviour in their social cycle. The solution for this promblem should be the government involvement. Government could start reabilitation programs in prisons and support convicts after the release. For instance, educational programs could be arranged in prisons so people could learn there in-demand skills that they will be able to use to earn money afterwards. Psychological help is also very important and expensive as well, so it should be funded by the state. Many criminals have psychological issues and as a result it is challenging for them to cope with problems, conflicts and other life events. Overcoming those issues will make convicts more resilent and improve their chances for success. And finally, government should provide support after the release, facilitating employment and rehabilitation. To conclude, many prisoners reoffend due to psychological and financial reasons and government must take decisive actions to counter this pattern.