Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

Indulging children and providing the best conditions to them is one the most common problems in modern parenting. This is not a desirable style of parenting and such a trend has an adverse impact on children and can result in long-term consequences. Overindulgence of the youngsters is an inappropriate method for raising them. Firstly, it is possible that over-caring parents affect the development process of their kids. For example, many parents spoon-feed their children until they reach the age of five or six years old, which is the development age for them to eat by themselves. In addition, this method of raising develops bad habits in which kids do whatever to get what they ask for. In case their requests have not been fulfilled, they will keep irritating their parents and demonstrate extreme actions such as crying, or being violent. There are several detrimental impacts of such parenting methods in the future. One of the primary consequences is that children will struggle with coping with the surrounding environment and what life brings them. For instance, when they enter college, they will struggle in managing personal chores, because the youngsters have been overly dependent on their parents. Another impact is that children raised by lenient parents presume that they can achieve any task or goal without having to work for it themselves. Furthermore, when children misbehave and parents do not impose any punishments; their problem-solving skills may be affected which are much needed to cope with today’s environment. Last but not least, children raised this way may indulge in criminal activities such as stealing money. For example, Brazil holds the highest rates of juvenile delinquencies with about twenty thousand youths in prison for criminal activities. In conclusion, it is unwise to raise children by giving them what they demand, and allowing them to do whatever they want. This manner not only undesirably influence their learning and development skills but also results in long-term harmful effects in their lives. It is predicted that if parents don’t properly bring up their children, both society and children will face devastating threats in the future.