In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In developed countries, there is no doubt that the average lifespan is improving gradually. For example, in Japan, over the past 10 years, the life expectancy has increased slightly from 83-year-old to 84.5-year-old. Many people think that this development is a positive trend. But in this essay, I will discuss some issues and address solutions to the growing average lifespan. Firstly, ageing population has caused financial burden for the government. For example, when senior citizens get some problems with physical health, their retirement pensions are not enough for them to afford hospital bills. Therefore, the government should improve the pensions, which causes the financial burden. The solution for this issue is that government should extend the retirement age. Besides, they can also give elders better life insurance, so they do not need to worry much about finance after being retired. Another major problem is that they might be isolated from society, especially the nuclear family. Because their children and their grandchildren have to go to work and study all day, so there is no time for them to visit grandparents. As a result, senior citizens feel lonely and behind the times. To solve this problem, family members can set aside 1 day on the weekend to gather and have dinner. Additionally, members should go on vacations with elders to create unforgettable memories together. In conclusion, the improvement of lifespan brings plenty of significant issues for society. Therefore, both government and individuals should take action as soon as possible to help elders have better life quality in both mental and physical health.