When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sport facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A wide range of people believes that once planners opt to design a city, much more attention should be paid to park or sport facilities, while others think differently; they explain that malls are more vital than public parks. I assume in order to have a better city, building parks or sport facilities play a vital role in helping residents. In my opinion, parks or sport facilities bring a sense of tranquillity for all citizens. This is due to the fact that parks or sport facilities provide an appropriate place so as to refill the residents’ energy. Moreover, children who live in places within walking distance of parks or sport facilities are more likely to make friends and, in turn, they have better communication skills. Also, youngsters turn up in sports facilities to get in shape. Therefore, the life expectancy has increased in those areas. In Japan, for instance, many parks will be planned to build prior to making a decision to create a city. On the other hand, other groups claim that malls are of paramount importance in any society. They insist that malls consist of different parts which help people to benefit from different facilities; such as playgrounds and food courts etc. however I do not find this argument convincing as when people go to the mall, they are bombarded by lots of advertisements to encourage them to purchase more items. Thus, the consumerism idea is spread in society. Also, people spent lots of hours visiting malls which leaves them with little time to observe life around them. In conclusion, there are some advantages to building malls. Nevertheless, building parks and sports facilities are more crucial. Not only do parks help people to gather with family but also, helps people to get in shape.