It is important for children to learn difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Distinguishing moral and immoral behaviour for children is of tremendous importance and punishment can be a decisive factor in realizing this difference. In my opinion, punishment can not be a good plan for teaching children life lessons. On the one hand, a group of people justifiably argue that although it is essential to demonstrate right and wrong to children from an early age, punishment can threaten their future in various aspects in the long run. It can also encourage aggressive behaviour among not only younger people but also adults. Research findings confirm that, if individuals are raised in a violent atmosphere, they face countless psychological problems in the future that find difficult to tackle alone. They would probably run into problems such as depression and violence. From a social perspective, those people who have harsh childhood are more likely to suffer from social problems. They lack self-confidence and interpersonal skills for example. On the other hand, another group of people claim that children should be taught about their environment and behavioural issues in any way. They firmly insist that punishment can stick lessons in their mind. However, I do not find this argument convincing as there could be numerous routes to teach children good and bad behaviour. For instance, telling stories about history and the consequences of the immoral behaviour of kings and queens can be attractive and more effective. Furthermore, encouragement plays a vital role in teaching. To conclude, in my view, it is the children's right to learn life lessons in quiet and peace without any punishment as it can provide them with a better life. Moreover, fewer long-lasting positive effects can be accounted for the rejection of this idea.