In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertising of products creates anxiety among consumers to purchase products. Companies try to sell goods by projecting them as new inventions into the market through promotions. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for the same and provide examples to support why they are beneficial to society. The critical reason for projecting a product as a new one is to sell it in the market and gain profit. Every manufacturer tries to create a product to differentiate from already existing items by imparting a unique selling proposition. Samsung sells its electronics, for instance, showing reliability as a unique selling point, which no other electronic goods promise in fact. This allows people to compare different items and make a decision to buy a good one. Thus, this method brings profound benefits to customers. On the other hand, many people, including me, think that the above-mentioned methodology is a positive activity. Individuals will think twice before purchasing an item by evaluating the new features with the already existing ones in the market. Indian mobile comparison website, for instance, GSM arena helps customers to compare different mobiles phones to analyse the best one out of all including new items. This buying behaviour helps the end-user not to fall for fake devices, which all new businesses try to do. Hence, it is indispensable that announcing the uniqueness of a product helps the customer to compare it with the available market furnishings and procure it. In conclusion, every new product is launched with a new value proposition into the market through ads by their respective manufacturers. The only reason for this behaviour is to improve their sales through promotion. I honestly believe the aforementioned behaviour is a positive aspect and eventually helps the end-user to differentiate the new goods from the old one's to take a brilliant decision.