Some children find some subjects such as Maths and philosophy too difficult to learn, so some people argue that these subjects should be optional rather than compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The proposition that education or parts of it, should be opt-in rather than mandatory is ridiculous and I completely disagree. There are core subjects children should learn without a question, and these subjects must be determined by adults that know better. Most of these topics are indeed hard to understand and as a result, too few children would choose to study them if we give them a choice. Consequently, not enough adults would pursue a career in science. Caregivers have the legal responsibility to look after their dependents. There is a wide range of tasks involved in supervising a minor. In case we are talking about a child of school age, guardians should ensure children attend classes and make the most out of them. Should we give a child the choice, he or she would choose not to go to school at all. Parents know this option would be detrimental to their offspring's future, in the same way, eating cookies for dinner would negatively impact their health. If allowed to make the decision, a small number of children would elect to include hard science and some humanities in their studies. As a result, this group of young people would have a significant gap in their knowledge, therefore their future earning potential may be affected, reducing their ability to live independently as productive adults. One of the pillars of human development as a whole is our ability to explain the world as we understand it. However, we need people interested in science and humanities to select these subjects and make them their careers. If we don't expose every youth to mathematics and humanities, we risk weakening the future workforce tasked to carry on with today's work of expanding our database. In summary, there are certain papers everyone should study as part of basic education. In addition, grownups cannot trust children to make the best choice for their future. Moreover, society has to guarantee there will be enough folk joining these careers when they turn into young adults. Furthermore, there might be a small number of individuals who voluntarily choose to include these topics in their learning schedule, but they would not be enough and we cannot risk this happening.